Executive Organizing Committee

The Executive Organizing Committee comprises members working in health research, education, policy and practice. 

Conference Chairs

Ruth Martin-Misener, ICNNPA, EC Member
Dr. Ruth Martin-Misener, NP, PhD

Dr. Martin-Misener is a Professor and Director of the School of Nursing at the Dalhousie University School of Nursing. She is an Affiliate Scientist with the Nova Scotia Health Authority and the Maritime SPOR Support Unit and is Co-Lead for the Collaborative for Research in Primary Health Care at Dalhousie University, and Co-Director of the Canadian Centre for Advanced Practice Nursing Research at McMaster University. The focus of her research is innovative interprofessional team-based models of care in primary health care, the role of NPs and other advanced and specialized nurses and patient engagement in primary health care quality improvements. She teaches NPs and other graduate students, supervises Masters and PhD students, and is actively involved in developing and evaluating policy for NP regulation, education and practice. She has published numerous articles in peer-reviewed journals, presented at national and international conferences and received several awards.

ICN NP/APN 2020, Tracy Kinch, Co-Chair Executive Organizing Committee
Tracy Kinch, MN NP

Tracy is a Family All Ages Nurse Practitioner currently working in primary health care collaborative practice in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Her nursing background includes Pediatric and Neonatal Critical Care, and Flight Nursing. Tracy is the Past Co-Chair of the Nurse practitioner Association of Nova Scotia. She enjoys mentoring graduate and undergraduate level students from Health Professional schools across the Atlantic Provinces. Tracy holds a Master’s in Nursing from Athabasca University (Athabasca, Alberta) and a Bachelor of Science in Nursing from Dalhousie University, (Halifax, Nova Scotia). Tracy is also certified in Neonatal Intensive Care from the University of Alberta and is a Certified Diabetes Educator. Tracy is from Halifax and excited to share the Maritime experience with the international nursing community. In her spare time Tracy likes to spend time with her family, and improve her swim for triathlon.

ICN NP/APN 2020 Carolyn Mitchell, Organising Committee Co-Chair
Dr. Carolyn Mitchell, MN-NP, DNP

Carolyn is a primary health care nurse practitioner employed with Nova Scotia Healthy Authority. Her 30 + years of nursing experience is varied with a strong emphasis on pediatrics and complex medical care. She holds a BA of Nursing from Memorial Uni. of Newfoundland and a MA of Nursing- Nurse Practitioner from Athabasca Uni. She completed a Doctor of Nursing Practice- Family Nurse Practitioner at Uni. of Massachusetts- Amherst. Her area of scholarship and research involves health care needs of children in foster care and the effects of adverse childhood experiences. She is a member of the College of Registered Nurses of NS, Canadian Nurses Association, Nurse Practitioner Association of Canada, American Association of Nurse Practitioners and is a member of the Nurse Practitioner Association of Nova Scotia. She is a member of the Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing.

Scientific Program Committee Chairs

Denise bryant-lukosius, ICN NP/APN 2020
Dr. Denise Bryant-Lukosius, RN, CON(C), BScN, MScN, PhD

Denise is a Professor and inaugural holder of the Alba DiCenso Chair in Advanced Practice Nursing in the School of Nursing and the co-Director for the Canadian Centre for Advanced Practice Nursing Research at McMaster University. She is cross-appointed at the Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre as a Clinician Scientist and Director of the Canadian Centre of Excellence in Oncology Advanced Practice Nursing. Denise is recognized internationally as a leader in advanced practice nursing (APN) research, education, mentorship, and knowledge translation. She has conducted research about Clinical Nurse Specialists and Nurse Practitioners in varied settings, led the development of APN curricula, and designed frameworks and tools for the introduction and evaluation of APN roles.

ICN NP/APN , Minna Miller, Scientific Committee Co-Chair
Dr. Minna Miller DNP, MSN, BA, NP(F), FAANP

Dr. Miller is a native of Finland. During her 33-year nursing career, she has worked in Finland, Saudi Arabia, United States and Canada. She is a nurse practitioner at BC Children’s Hospital. She is an adjunct professor at the University of British Columbia School of Nursing. She holds a Master of Science in Nursing from UBC, and a Post-MSN Family Nurse Practitioner Certificate and Doctor of Nursing Practice from Western University of Health Sciences (Pomona, CA, USA). She is the first Canadian to be inducted as a fellow into the American Association of Nurse Practitioners. She is the past co-chair of ICN NP APNN Health Policy Subgroup and presently serves within the Core Steering Group as project coordinator. Her research interests are centered on NP outcomes, APN regulation, education and practice globally.

Further scientific program committee members:

Marsha Campbell Yeo
Andrew Cashin
Consuelo Ceron-MacKay
Lisbeth Fagerstrom

Janet Fulton
Deborah Gray
Mary Lou Martin
Ruth Martin-Misener

Joyce Pulcini
Melanie Rogers
Josette Roussel
Frances Wong

Executive Organizing Committee Members


Claire Blight


Lenora Brace, NPAPN2020 EC Member

Lenora Brace


ICN NP/APN2020, Cheryl Robbins, EOC

Cheryl Brookman


robert burrows bio

Robert Burrows


NPAPN2020, Committee Member, Marsha Campbell-Yeo

Dr. Marsha Campell-Yeo PhD, NNP-BC, RN

Deborah Hart, ICN NP/APN2020

Deborah Hart


Kim Hebert, NPAPN2020 EC Member

Kim Hebert


Mary Lou Martin

Mary-Lou Martin


Kim Lamarche, ICNNPA, EC Member

Dr. Kimberley Lamarche


ICNNPAPN2020, EC Member , Josette Roussel

Josette Roussel

RN, M.Sc., M.Ed.

Erin Sarrazin, ICN NP/APN 2020

Erin Sarrazin


ICN NP/APN, LeeAnnWhite-Young, EOC

LeeAnne White Young RN, MN, NP